August 13th Left Hander’s Day

I am not a Sinistrophobic, that’s someone who is fearful of left handed people. In fact, When I was young, I always wanted to be a part of the 10% of the world’s population who are southpaws.

maxresdefault (1)

Alas, I am right handed so I never realized my dreams. Guess I was thinking out of the left side of my brain, that’s where right handed people think, left handers think out of the right side.

ford-clinton-obama-300x223

Quite a few of our best thinkers have been left handed. Being right handed or left handed doesn’t mean you are smarter though. Left handers often go looking for those left handed hammers and screwdrivers (It doesn’t matter!). Back in the 1600’s it was believed that anyone who was left handed was a witch or a warlock. That alone might have been enough to make a left handed person learn how to use their right hand!

67ac5_5-Famous-Left-Handed-People-2-450x338

Scientists also believe that all Polar Bears are left handed. I cannot disagree because I have never seen a Polar Bear write so I’ll have to take their word for it. Today we accommodate left handers with a good deal more equipment. Unlike in Jimi Henricks day, left handed guitars are readily available as well as other items originally just made for right handers.

famous-left-handed-guitar-players-thumb

Left Hander’s International created today on August 13th, 1976. Personally, I think being left handed is cool but I couldn’t begin to tell you why. Guess maybe it’s because it makes you out of the norm to start with.

How to celebrate – If you are left handed, enjoy being a little different. Keep looking for that left handed hammer, you may actually find it one day! Find out how many of your friends and family are left handed and see if it does equal 10%.

Leave a Reply

