July 18th National Caviar Day

They say that caviar is one of the finest delicacies on the face of the earth. Today they say is the day to celebrate it’s gift to mankind. I will have to take their word for it since I am not about to put jellied fish eggs in my mouth.

caviar-t1larg

The best is said to come from a sturgeon found in the Caspian Sea. That is the largest inland body of water on the earth and much of it controlled by Russia, which seems to be the best provider of expensive caviar. I have to wonder who first started eating caviar, I somehow doubt it was the rich.

Paramount Caviar

The caviar from Whitefish and Salmon apparently is acceptable, though cheaper by far. Still, as I look at it, it does not tempt me at all. I know there are many of you that like caviar out there and I do not mean to question your taste. I also choose not to eat bull testicles and monkey brains which are also considered great delicacies.

caviar

But if you do enjoy these tempting treats, this is your day to enjoy it, or maybe at least be a brave sole and try it. I am told it’s a little salty but goes down well with champagne (maybe if I were drunk enough…)

Screen_Shot_2015-07-17_at_2.22.26_PM.width-704

How to celebrate – Well if caviar is your kind of thing, enjoy some today, not the cheap stuff, the expensive kind! Throw a caviar taste testing party and see if your friends can tell the difference between good caviar and not so good caviar.

Leave a Reply

